No Time to Travel? Get Lost in a Travel Movie

If you are like me and living on the East Coast then you are probably feeling like you live in the Arctic tundra. I know I am! I also feel like a hibernating bear because I don’t want to go anywhere or do anything that involves leaving the warmth of my house/bed. The problem is that I love to travel and go on weekend adventures, so what is a girl to do in the middle of Winter? I found that watching movies that involve traveling can really bring my mood up and help me get lost in believing I am in the warm and beautiful destination that the movie is set in. Here is a list of my top travel movies:

1. Eat, Pray, Love

eat pray love

This movie is great because it is based on a true story. Julia Roberts plays author Elizabeth Gilbert, a woman who goes on a journey through Italy, India, and Bali after a failed marriage and not knowing who she truly is. After watching this movie I myself wanted to go on my own spiritual journey. Between the amazing food in Italy, seeing the culture of India, and the beauty of Bali I just wanted to go through my TV screen and be in all those places.

2. Under The Tuscan Sun

under

Under the Tuscan Sun is another movie based on a true story. Diane Lane plays author Frances Mayes, a woman who travels to Tuscany, Italy after accepting a friend’s offer to take her place on a tour. Frances has just went through a divorce so when she arrives to Tuscany she impulsively ditches the tour and buys a villa as a way to escape her life back in San Francisco. Having gone to Italy many times, I love this movie because I get a taste of Tuscany which I have not yet been to and I also get to reminisce about Rome and the Amalfi Coast.

3. The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants

greece

Ok, so I wouldn’t really call this a travel movie but it is a great movie! This movie is based on 4 friends that are all doing their own thing in the summer so they decide to share a pair of pants (somehow they all fit into them) and write to each other about their adventures as they pass the pants around. One of the girls Lena spends the summer in Greece, so while watching this movie you do get a taste of Greece. Her time is spent in Santorini which is absolutely beautiful. After watching this movie I added Santorini to my bucket list of my must go to destinations.

4. Roman Holiday

Roman_holiday

This movie is definitely a classic! Audrey Hepburn plays a princess that is escaping her royal duties for 24 hours by running away to Rome, and while there she meets an American reporter played by Gregory Peck. This movie is both romantic and funny, plus you get to take in the beauty, sights, and sounds of such an amazing city.

5. La Dolce Vita

La_Dolce_Vita_(1960_film)_coverart

Yet another classic! This movie is actually an Italian made movie so you have to be o.k with watching it with subtitles. It is based on a journalist named Marcello Rubini who takes a seven day journey through “the sweet life” of Rome where he is searching for love and happiness. La Dolce Vita is also most famous for the scene where actress Anita Ekberg steps into the Fontana di Trevi wearing a black dress, arms wide open, and calls out for Marcello. The Fontana di Trevi is a staple of Rome that is known world wide.

This is just my list of movies that I love that show bits and pieces of beautiful destinations. I would love to hear suggestions of other movies that involve travel. Comment below if you have any suggestions 🙂

One thought on “No Time to Travel? Get Lost in a Travel Movie

  1. YES to Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants!
    Although not the most highly rated movies, BOTH Sex and the City films involve travel and I’m a sucker for them.
    I believe The Bucket List also had various locations visited including the Taj Mahal, Great Wall of China, The Great Pyramid, etc.

Leave a Reply

