Bayou Lovin

Me, my boyfriend Ryan, and my friend Emily all ready to go on our Swamp Tour

Me, my boyfriend Ryan, and my friend Emily all ready to go on our Swamp Tour

From my last post you learned that I ate my way through New Orleans recently. While I was in the Big Easy I also decided to do a Swamp Tour. What do you expect to see on a Swamp Tour? I really was not sure. In my mind I thought I was going to see just muddy water with long layers of grass coming out of it or maybe even see some sort of swamp monster.

This is a reasonable thing to think you may see right?

This is a reasonable thing to think you may see right?

I was definitely wrong in my judgment, and the swamp was not what I was expecting at all. It was actually quite beautiful. Here are some pictures of some of the water covered in tiny green leaves (of course the guide gave a name of the leaves, but really how am I supposed to remember that?)

swamp15 swamp14 swamp13

The Swamp Tour was also amazing for anyone that loves to see wildlife or shall I say love to see wildlife swim aggressively to the boat you’re on.

Wild boards coming towards our boat

Wild boars coming towards our boat

swamp3

An alligator just chillin on a log

An alligator just chillin on a log

Uh oh the alligator spotted our boat

Uh oh the alligator spotted our boat

Who knew alligators liked marshmallows?

Who knew alligators liked marshmallows?

Not only did I see amazing wildlife but I got to experience a life outside of what I know and grew accustomed to. The bayou isn’t just home to alligators, wild boars, and other wildlife but also home to some people. Some of the people live there year round or some just use it as their vacation home. The residents that live there year round literally have to take their children on a boat every morning to get them on land to their bus stop. That’s just crazy to me!

Don’t these pictures remind you of the movie The Waterboy?

swamp8 swamp7 swamp6

All in all the Swamp Tour was an amazing experience and I am so glad I did it! It was a great way to get away from the city for a day and away from the smell of trash/vomit on Bourbon Street! Definitely a nice way to get some fresh air!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

